European Darts Grand Prix without Razma and Viljanen

The second day starts today at the European Darts Grand Prix, which means that the seeded players enter the tournament.

According to the bookmakers, there were not many surprises yesterday. So it was only Mark McGeeney’s victory against Josh Payne, and Ryan Searle’s victory against Glen Durrant who didn’t go as the bookmakers had expected.

This meant that people like Krzysztof Ratajski, Keegan Browen, Dimitri van den Bergh and other players promoted themself to today’s round where the resistance undeniably gets a little harder.

Unfortunately this also means, that Kim Viljanen lost 6-1 against Nathan Aspinall and Madars Razma lost 6-0 against Chris Dobey.

Already now, though, Ryan Searle has qualified for the third round tomorrow. The Englishman had thus drawn James Wade in the second round, but as James Wade has withdrawn himself from the tournament, Searle received a BYE in today’s round. It also means that the afternoon program only consists of seven games, instead of the usual eight.

The afternoon starts as usual at 13.00 and there are some interesting matches from the start. So Michael Smith is up against Krzysztof Ratajski in today’s first game. Subsequently, Joe Cullen will face Mark McGeeney.

Ian White will also face Dimitri van den Bergh later in the day before Gerwyn Price finishes the afternoon against Gavin Carlin.

The evening’s program starts with a match between Rob Cross and Jeffrey de Zwaan. Then Darren Webster faces Vincent van der Voort before Daryl Gurney meets Chris Dobey.

Later in the evening, the two young players Max Hopp and Nathan Aspinall will face each other before Michael van Gerwen will defend his title against Brendan Dolan.

The evening’s program ends with Peter Wright, who is going up against Niels Zonneveld.

All matches of the day can be seen at from one o’clock, and as always you can create an overview of today’s matches below:

2019 European Darts Grand Prix
Saturday May 11
Second Round

Afternoon Session (13.00)
Michael Smith v Krzysztof Ratajski
Joe Cullen v Mark McGeeney
Jonny Clayton v Ross Smith
Mervyn King v James Richardson
Ricky Evans v Keegan Brown
Ian White v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Gerwyn Price v Gavin Carlin

Evening Session (19.15)
Rob Cross v Jeffrey de Zwaan
Darren Webster v Vincent van der Voort
Daryl Gurney v Chris Dobey
Mensur Suljovic v Steve Beaton
Adrian Lewis v Jamie Hughes
Max Hopp v Nathan Aspinall
Michael van Gerwen v Brendan Dolan
Peter Wright v Niels Zonneveld

Posted in News