Unibet European Championship starts today

Unibet European Championship starts today and there will be some pretty good matches.

It is time for the European season finale. Thus the European Tour will reach its end for this season, and it has been a memorable season. Especially Michael van Gerwen has impressed with no less than eight tournament wins out of 13 possible. The remaining five have been distributed to Mensur Suljovic, who won in Denmark, Max Hopp, Ian White, Johnny Clayton and Gerwyn Price.

Today, we have two of the season’s tournament winners on the program, but before Ian White is on stage, Steve West starts playing against Mervyn King. A showdown, which can easily be a very well-played affair. Both players have shown examples of very nice level throughout the season.

Then it is Ian White on the stage. Here he will meet Richard North.

Subsequently, Simon Whitlock will play against Steve Beaton, followed by Michael Smith against Steve Lennon.

Among the last four matches of the day we find no less than three past or present world champions. First, Jelle Klaasen will play against Joe Cullen. It’s been a long time since we have seen a good level from Jelle Klaasen, but today would be a great time to get back on track.

Then Paul Nicholson faces a difficult task when he meets Michael van Gerwen. The Australian have previously beat the dutchman, but the statistics are still 13-3 in Michael van Gerwen’s favor.

Rob Cross takes the scene in the evening’s second-last match, where he meets Danny Noppert. Rob Cross is undoubtedly the favorite in this showdown, but the season has been something of a roller coaster ride for the world champion. So it becomes interesting to see what level he finds today.

The last match is between Peter Wright and Jermaine Wattimena. The last time the young Dutchman won against Peter Wright, was back in 2016.

All the matches can be seen on PDC.TV from eight o’clock tonight. In addition, you can get an overview of the entire tournament below:

Unibet European Championship
Schedule of Play
Thursday October 25 (2000 local time, 1900 UK time)

First Round x8
Steve West v Mervyn King
Ian White v Richard North
Simon Whitlock v Steve Beaton
Michael Smith v Steve Lennon
Joe Cullen v Jelle Klaasen
Michael van Gerwen v Paul Nicholson
Rob Cross v Danny Noppert
Peter Wright v Jermaine Wattimena

Friday October 26
Afternoon Session (1345 local time, 1245 UK time)

First Round x8
Jonny Clayton v James Wilson
Darren Webster v Stephen Bunting
Gerwyn Price v Kyle Anderson
Mensur Suljovic v Cristo Reyes
Daryl Gurney v Ricky Evans
Max Hopp v William O’Connor
James Wade v Martin Schindler
Adrian Lewis v Dave Chisnall

Evening Session (2000 local time, 1900 UK time)
Second Round x4
Cullen/Klaasen v Smith/Lennon
Whitlock/Beaton v Wright/Wattimena
White/North v Cross/Noppert
Van Gerwen/Nicholson v West/King

Saturday October 27 (2000 local time, 1900 UK time)
Second Round x4
Price/Anderson v Lewis/Chisnall
Suljovic/Reyes v Webster/Bunting
Wade/Schindler v Gurney/Evans
Hopp/O’Connor v Clayton/Wilson

Sunday October 28
Afternoon Session (1345 local time, 1245 UK time)

Evening Session (2000 local time, 1900 UK time)

Posted in News