Labanauskas is ready for the German Darts Championship

The German Darts Championship starts today, and a couple of exciting names on the first day.

The Europa Tour is back after the summer’s World Series. We are back in Germany, this time in Hildesheim to be more precise.

Full 16 matches are on the program today and it is Andy Boulton and Josh Payne, who starts the show at one o’clock.

Later, Australian Kyle Anderson will be in action when he meets Lee Bryant.

The PDC Nordic & Baltics’ representative also plays during today’s first session. It is Darius Labanauskas, who will play against Dutch Jan Dekker. It could easily be a very even match. The winner of the match will fight Gerwyn Price tomorrow.

After Labanauskas, Max Hopp and Vincent van der Voort will also be in action before the break.

The evening’s program is then started by Martin Schindler, who is facing Justin Pipe. Then we will also see people like Jermaine Wattimena, Adrian Lewis, Robert Thornton and Cristo Reyes in action.

Tomorrow, the slightly bigger names enter the tournament and if you believe the bookmakers, Michael van Gerwen is the big favorite. It’s hardly surprising anyone, but surprising is perhaps the big distance there is to the next one on the list, which is Rob Cross.
Many may wonder why it’s not Peter Wright, but it’s simply because the Scottsman do not participate this weekend.

You can get an overview of today’s matches below. All matches will be shown on PDC.TV.

Schedule of Play
Friday August 31

First Round
Afternoon Session (1pm local time, 12pm BST)
Andy Boulton v Josh Payne
Ted Evetts v Mark Webster
Lee Bryant v Kyle Anderson
Darren Johnson v Christopher Hänsch
Darius Labanauskas v Jan Dekker
Richard North v Ron Meulenkamp
Andrew Gilding v Max Hopp
Krzysztof Ratajski v Vincent van der Voort

Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm BST)
Martin Schindler v Justin Pipe
Michael Rasztovits v David Pallett
Jermaine Wattimena v James Wilson
Adrian Lewis v Toni Alcinas
Terry Jenkins v Ross Smith
Robert Thornton v Robert Marijanovic
Ricky Evans v Danny Noppert
Cristo Reyes v Nico Blum

Posted in News