Rob Cross steals the spotlight at the PDC Annual Awards Dinner

Yesterday evening the PDC held their Annual Awards Dinner at The Dorchester Hotel, Park Lane, London. Rob Cross took four prizes. 

Michael van Gerwen, not so surprising, won PDC Player of the Year. But it was Rob Cross who entered the spotlight with four different prizes. He won PDC Best Newcomer, Televised Perfomance of the Year, PDC Fans’ Player of the Year and PDPA Players’ Player of the Year.

“It’s amazing to get four awards,” said Cross. “This time I was practising and I knew I had a big year coming up but I progressed nicely and you couldn’t have scripted it.

“I’ve still got to get used to being World Champion, but in my eyes I’m still learning and I feel I can get better.”

“To get the Players’ Player of the Year award is unreal, and to get this reaction from the fans too is fantastic.”

Other than that the Sky Sports Darts Presenter, Dave Clark, was inducted to the PDC Hall of Fame.

Besides the eight prizes, shown below, the Pins for the PDC Nine-Dart Club were awarded.

Players who hit a perfect leg in a non-televised event are awarded a Silver Pin Badge, with players who hit a nine-darter in a broadcasted tournament receiving a Gold Pin Badge.


2018 PDC Annual Awards

PDC Hall of Fame Induction

Dave Clark – Sky Sports Darts Presenter

ProTour Player of the Year
Winner: Peter Wright
Michael van Gerwen
Rob Cross
Michael Smith

PDC Best Newcomer
Winner: Rob Cross
Richard North
Steve Lennon
Luke Humphries

Televised Performance of the Year
Winner: Rob Cross, World Championship semi-finals v Michael van Gerwen
Peter Wright, Premier League (Exeter) v Adrian Lewis
Phil Taylor, World Matchplay final v Peter Wright
Michael van Gerwen, World Championship second round v James Wilson

PDC Fans’ Player of the Year
Winner: Rob Cross

PDPA Players’ Player of the Year
Winner: Rob Cross

PDC Nine-Dart Club
Gold Pins: Adrian Lewis, Kyle Anderson
Silver Pins: Robert Allenstein, Kyle Anderson, Steve Beaton, Dave Chisnall, Joe Cullen, Mike De Decker, Mark Dudbridge, Ted Evetts, Rob Hewson, Kim Huybrechts, Ronny Huybrechts, Christian Kist, Adrian Lewis, Jamie Lewis, Mickey Mansell, Ryan Meikle, Kenny Neyens, Mensur Suljovic, Michael van Gerwen, Darren Webster, Ricky Williams, Peter Wright

PDC Young Player of the Year
Winner: Dimitri Van den Bergh
Steve Lennon
Martin Schindler
Ted Evetts

PDC Player of the Year
Winner: Michael van Gerwen
Peter Wright
Rob Cross
Daryl Gurney

Posted in News