Dave Chisnall wins the Danish Darts Open 2019

The Danish Darts Open 2019 has found its champion, as Dave Chisnall won the final this evening.

Dave Chisnall is the Danish Darts Open champion after he won 8-3 against Chris Dobey in the final.

The day started with a 6-2 victory against Kirk Shepherd in the third round for Chris Dobey. In the quarter-final he had to go up against the European Tour-debutant, Jose De Sousa.

The match started quite well for Chris Dobey, who got himself in front by 2-1 and later 4-2. Jose De Sousa fought his way back into the game and even got ahead by 5-4, before Chris Dobey took the last two legs to secure the victory.

In the semi-final Gerwyn Price waited. Gerwyn Price showed an incredible level in both the third round and the quarter-final, but against Chris Dobey, he looked a bit more human, even though he averaged 99.08, and lost by 7-4.

And then Chris Dobey was ready for his first ever European final.

Dave Chisnall started the day with a tough match against Mensur Suljovic. ‘Chizzy’ got up by 3-0, but Mensur got himself back in the match, but never ahead. And after a lot of legs, where none of the two made a break of throw, Dave Chisnall could secure the victory in the last and deciding leg.

In the quarter-final he was up against Jermaine Wattimena. Unfortunately for the Dutchman, he could not do anything against Dave Chisnall and lost by 6-1.

In the semi-final Dave Chisnall started with a really high level and got himself in front by 5-2. Jonny Clayton then began hitting his targets, and suddenly the score was 5-5. Dave Chisnall continued with a really high level after this and once again, he had to secure the victory in the last and deciding leg.

In the final Chris Dobey got himself in front by 2-0, even with a 146 checkout in the first leg, before Dave Chisnall got on 2-1 and 2-2 afterwards. With a 40 checkout Dave Chisnall then got himself in front by 2-3, before going up by 2-4 with a 32 checkout.

Chris Dobey then made the score 3-4, before Dave Chisnall got up by 3-5. In the ninth leg Dave Chisnall missed two darts for a 60 checkout. Chris Dobey also missed two darts for 56 checkout, and therefore Dave Chisnall had another chance, took advantage, and got himself up by 3-6. ‘Chizzy’ then took another step towards the title checking out 32, just after Chris Dobey missed a dart for a 140 checkout.

In the 11th leg Dave Chisnall secured the European title with an 115 checkout.

Posted in News