Final day at the European Darts Grand Prix

The European Darts Grand Prix will be ​​decided today and Michael van Gerwen can still regain the title.

It’s time to settle the European Darts Grand Prix. Michael van Gerwen is still part of the field, and therefore he can still regain his title from 2018.

However, there are still many who will certainly try to kick the Dutchman off the throne, so we must see if one can succeed with it.

The afternoon starts with Ian White, who is up against Keegan Brown. Then Jeffrey de Zwaan, who won 6-3 against Rob Cross yesterday, will play against Michael Smith.

Ryan Searle, who wasn’t in action yesterday, is up against Steve Beaton in today’s third game before Gerwyn Price is up against Darren Webster.

Daryl Gurney did not resemble a man who would qualify for today. He was down by 5-2 against Chris Dobey yesterday, as it looked the worst. However, the Northern Irishman turned it all upside down and won 6-5, and therefore he is ready for today’s round, where he will meet Nathan Aspinall.

Jamie Hughes is subsequently facing Mark McGeeney. Jamie Hughes impressed yesterday when he averaged 103.97 against Adrian Lewis in a match he won 6-3.

Peter Wright will meet Jonny Clayton. The two have not met each other since 2017, and here it became a victory for Peter Wright. In fact, the two have only met each other three times in their careers, and Peter Wright has won all three showdowns.

Michael van Gerwen shuts down the afternoon when he meets James Richardson. The Dutch had a little trouble finding the level when he just beat Brendan Dolan by 6-5 yesterday. On the other hand, James Richardson impressed with a nice average of 102.19 when he beat Mervyn King by 6-3.

The evening’s program will consist of quarter-finals, where Michael van Gerwen may risk meeting Peter Wright, semi-finals and the final.

All matches can be followed on from one o’clock, and as always you can create an overview of the program below:

2019 European Darts Grand Prix
Sunday May 12
Afternoon Session (13.00)

Third Round
Ian White v Keegan Brown
Jeffrey de Zwaan v Michael Smith
Steve Beaton v Ryan Searle
Gerwyn Price v Darren Webster
Daryl Gurney v Nathan Aspinall
Jamie Hughes v Mark McGeeney
Peter Wright v Jonny Clayton
Michael van Gerwen v James Richardson

Evening Session (19.15)
White/Brown v De Zwaan/Smith
Beaton/Searle v Price/Webster
Gurney/Aspinall v Hughes/McGeeney
Wright/Clayton v Van Gerwen/Richardson



Posted in News