Who will win the European Darts Open?

Peter Wright impressed in yesterday’s round. Today we will see if it continues.

It’s Sunday, and so it is also time to find the winner of this year’s first European Tour event. Many good names are still in the pot, but especially the world’s top three stands out.

Just like on the first day, there were not many surprises among the results yesterday. The biggest surprise was probably that Simon Whitlock lost 6-5 against Ross Smith. The Australian haven’t really got the start of 2019, he could have hoped for.

In addition, Adrian Lewis also had to leave the tournament, however, due to a somewhat more understandable defeat to Dimitri van den Bergh of 6-3.

Glen Durrant also had to leave the tournament when he lost 6-5 to Jermaine Wattimena, who averaged ​​impressing 102.16.

The very same Jermaine Wattimena starts today’s program when he is up against Michael van Gerwen in today’s first match. Michael van Gerwen won 6-1 against Mervyn King in yesterday’s match. Here the Dutchman averaged a little over 97.

Two others who also averaged ​​over 100 yesterday were Rob Cross and Peter Wright. They are up against Jonny Clayton and Ross Smith respectively in the third round.

The program today is, on the whole, filled up with big names and therefore we can look forward to games like James Wade against Dave Chisnall, Dimitri van den Bergh against Daryl Gurney and Krzysztof Ratajski against Gerwyn Price.

In addition, Justin Pipe is still among the last 16 to face Darren Webster today.

And last but not least, we must not forget that Mensur Suljovic is facing Joe Cullen.

All matches in the third round will be played best of 11 legs. In the semi-finals it goes up to 13, and in the final it goes up to 15.

As always, you can watch today’s matches on PDC.tv from one o’clock, and at the same time you can create an overview of the games below:

Sunday March 24
Afternoon Session (1300)

Third Round
Michael van Gerwen v Jermaine Wattimena
Krzysztof Ratajski v Gerwyn Price
Mensur Suljovic v Joe Cullen
James Wade v Dave Chisnall
Justin Pipe v Darren Webster
Rob Cross v Jonny Clayton
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Daryl Gurney
Peter Wright v Ross Smith

Evening Session (1915)
Van Gerwen/Wattimena v Ratajski/Price
Suljovic/Cullen v Wade/Chisnall
Pipe/Webster v Cross/Clayton
Van den Bergh/Gurney v Wright/Smith


Posted in News