UK Open continues – Madars Razma is ready for the fifth round

The second day at the UK Open is up for grabs, and it’s without Gary Anderson and Michael van Gerwen.

We are ready for the second day at the UK Open, and thus also the fifth round. A fifth round, which lacks many of the big names, as several surprises sent them out in the dark yesterday.

The biggest surprise was without a doubt that Mervyn King won 10-6 against Michael van Gerwen in the fourth round. In addition, Gary Anderson also had to go out with only one match at this year’s UK Open when he lost 10-8 against Steve Beaton.

Peter Wright is also no longer in the field, as he lost 10-8 against Mensur Suljovic in the fourth round. In addition, we also saw names like Adrian Lewis, Stephen Bunting, Jeffrey de Zwaan and Ian White being sent out of the tournament.

This means that the UK Open must find a new champion, and the fight for the title thus continues today.

The 32 players to play in the fifth round are ready to play again from 13.30 today, and several interesting matches have been drawn.

Thus, James Wade is up against Max Hopp while Michael Smith is in action against Daryl Gurney.

Mervyn King will see if he can continue to surprise as he faces Rob Cross, the only player left from the top 4 on the Order of Merit.

Other exciting shows are Mensur Suljovic v Dimitri Van den Bergh, Krzysztof Ratajski v Jonny Clayton and Dave Chsinall v Martin Schindler.

Madars Razma will also be in action today, as he will meet Nathan Aspinall.

The Latvian thus won matches yesterday against Dennis Nilsson, Mark McGeeney, George Killington and Jelle Klaasen.

Unfortunately Darius Labanauskas lost already in the first round, and Marko Kantele did not advance from the second round.

Saturday March 2
Afternoon Session (1330 start)

Fifth Round
Main Stage
James Wade v Max Hopp
Michael Smith v Daryl Gurney
Mensur Suljovic v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Mervyn King v Rob Cross

Stage Two
Madars Razma v Nathan Aspinall
Simon Whitlock v Gabriel Clemens
Jamie Lewis v Josh Payne
Jamie Hughes v Gerwyn Price

Stage Three
Steve Beaton v Keegan Brown
Krzysztof Ratajski v Jonny Clayton
Simon Stevenson v Kim Huybrechts
Jermaine Wattimena v Luke Woodhouse

Stage Four
Mickey Mansell v Steve Lennon
Dave Chisnall v Martin Schindler
Ross Smith v Steve West
Richard North v Cristo Reyes

Evening Session (2000 start)
Sixth Round
Main Stage & Stage Two

Posted in News