World Matchplay kicks off today

BetVictor World Matchplay starts today and MvG is already in action tonight.

It is time for the prestigious World Matchplay. It’s the tournament that everyone wants to win, it’s the trophy that everyone wants to lift.

The Phil Taylor Trophy, as it has been renamed, has only been lifted three times by the players making up for this year’s tournament. Twice by Michael van Gerwen and once by James Wade.

It’s time for a new era at World Matchplay, now that legendary Phil Taylor is no longer active. With 16 wins at this tournament, it will be difficult for anyone ever to reach the Englishman who takes the place in the commentator box during this tournament.

Today, the tournament is kicked off with four matches. Adrian Lewis, who is really refinding his top-level, face off against James Wilson. Then Dave Chisnall will try to beat Keegan Brown.

Then a pure Dutch show is waiting when Michael van Gerwen faces Jeffrey de Zwaan, who has not been impressive lately.

The whole evening is finished by Michael Smith against Jonny Clayton.

See the full program of the first roun below:

2018 BetVictor World Matchplay
Schedule of Play
Saturday July 21 (7pm)

First Round
Adrian Lewis v James Wilson
Dave Chisnall v Keegan Brown
Michael van Gerwen v Jeffrey de Zwaan
Michael Smith v Jonny Clayton

Sunday July 22
Afternoon Session (1pm)
First Round
Darren Webster v Steve Lennon
Ian White v Max Hopp
Gerwyn Price v Joe Cullen
Daryl Gurney v Steve West

Evening Session (7.30pm)
First Round
Mensur Suljovic v Steve Beaton
Gary Anderson v Stephen Bunting
Rob Cross v Mervyn King
Raymond van Barneveld v Kyle Anderson

Monday July 23 (7pm)
First Round
Kim Huybrechts v John Henderson
Simon Whitlock v Richard North
James Wade v Jermaine Wattimena
Peter Wright v Jelle Klaasen

Best of 19 legs
* Each game must be won by two clear legs, with up to a maximum of five additional legs being played before the sixth additional leg is sudden-death. For example, should a First Round game (best of 19 legs) reach 12-12, then the 25th leg would be the final and deciding leg.

Posted in News